Two Years.

Two years have passed since you stepped across time. Passed through the tesseract and into Heaven. I often wonder what you’re doing. Are you singing worship songs? Are you asking questions? Making art?

Are you watching us?

Do you see what’s new down here? Two little grandsons of yours. Brady James and Bo William. Our little men. They are too cool. You would love them.

They will love you.

A lot has changed in two years. We have grown in fits and bursts just like these little guys grow. Lots of feedings, lots of sleep and we wake up taller, stronger, wiser.

At first it was hard to imagine what good God would bring out of this. We knew He would, because He does. It’s who He is – His nature. But to see it happen? I wondered if I would have eyes to see it. But I can. I am starting to see it now. Glimpses of good. of great.

And the pain is still there, under the surface  – just a memory, a place, a song, a meal or a scent away. But the grief is not all consuming now. Another glimpse of growth.

Today I told Brady and Bo about you. I told them how you loved God, how you showed us how to make a party out of anything. I told them how you fought so hard for life and how you looked forward to heaven. They heard about your love of art and beauty. Their eyes watched me as I shared about your pictures and your writings and your cooking and baking. How your love poured out of each action. And they may have learned a funny story or two – like running out of gas three times in two weeks.

Earl and I tell them about all their grandparents.

Grandma and Grandpa in Florida.

Opa in Germany.

And Grandma in Heaven.

One thought on “Two Years.

Leave a Reply

